Abia Warriors FC is a Nigerian Football Club based in the city of Umuahia, Abia state.

The club won a promotion to the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) in August 2013.

History has shown that what is currently known as Abia Warriors Football Club of Umuahia started as an amateur side known as NEPA FC of Umuahia.

Kudos must be given to Basil Udeogu of blessed memory who then took charge of the club, renamed it Abia Warriors FC of Umuahia and through dint of hard work, determination and commitment, steered the club into the then Nigeria Professional League.

Upon his demise and subsequent promotion of the club from the National Amateur League to the Professional League, Chief Jude Ezechukwu, erstwhile Proprietor of the defunct Jasper United Football Club, was appointed as the first Chairman of the Club.

Shortly after that, the Club was renamed OUK Football Club and Chief Ifeanyi Iboko became the Club Chairman before a brief stint by the former Director of Sports in the State Mr Ejikeme Ikwunze who administered the Club as a Sole Administrator.

In 2019, a New Board was constituted with the election of Pastor Emeka Inyama as the Chairman. The renowned Sports Administrator has Mr Ebere Esiaba as Secretary.

There is no gain saying the fact that the fortunes of the club improved tremendously under this astute Sports Administrator cum Journalist who brought his wealth of experience to bear on the club in addition to administering the club professionally.

Not long after this, the club’s name went back to Abia Warriors of Umuahia and acquired ad office complex for the first time with internet facilities and quality technocrats to run its affairs.

Determined to make Abia Warriors one of the best in the land, the club recently moved into a modern double-wing duplex befitting of a Premier League side and observers believe that the current Abia Warriors Secretariat located along Ikot Ekpene Road in Umuahia is second to none among its peers.

With all these on ground, the die was indeed cast and it was not surprising that the club debuted in the Nigeria Premier Football League after it gained promotion from the Nigerian National League after almost 3 seasons of campaigning in the lower rung of Nigerian Football.

Worthy of mention in all these achievements is the effort, massive support previous the club received from its immediate environment whom have demonstrated their belief that top flight football can be witnessed in Umuahia, the Capital City of Abia State.

The team demonstrated its resolve to make an appreciable impact in its debut Premier League Season with a superlative performance in the Preseason “Super Four” contest held in Abuja to determine the authentic champions of the Nigeria National League where it made it to the final. Since that time, Abia Warríors have become a house-hold name in Nigerian Football.

While all the other three teams with whom it gained promotion to the elite class have since been relegated, Abia Warriors, initially pioneered by veteran tactician, Isa Ladan Bosso, took the league by storm, as the team became the first club in the elite division to win three away games in a season.

Also, the club scored the second highest number of goals, only coming behind Champions, Kano Pillars. At the end of its debt season, Abia Warriors missed going continental by whiskers and eventually finished 7th on the 20 team log. Since then, the team has continued to survive the storm to remain in the Nigeria Professional Football League.

Apart from Ladan Bosso, Abia Warriors have also attracted other big coaches in Nigerian Football like Kennedy Boboye, Okey Emodi, Abdullahi Biffo, Rafel Everton, Henry Makinwa Emmanuel Deutch and now Imama Amakapabo, all of whom made their mark in the club.

Recently, Abia Warriors recorded another feat by becoming the first Nigeria Premier League Club to float a genuine U.13 and U.15 Football Academy some of whom are on the club’s scholarship programme.

A quest which is geared given back to its immediate environment which have remained steadfast in its support, all these years.